A Disparate List

1.    When people tag pictures with #nofilter, increasingly my first reaction is, ‘oh, that’s a shame – a carefully chosen filter would’ve made your okay photograph really pretty great.’ It comes across as judgey, and so I judge right back. The camera you’re using is a humungous filter – never mind that you chose to frame the shot, and there’s the application you chose to share it in. So, y’know. Next time, filter some more. Put the leg-work in.

2.    I’m not getting this bike shelter built anytime soon. The design of it is on my mind, but it needs to be – crazily – movable… and that’s what’s slowing the whole process down. That, plus I’m not wholly convinced that the old bitumen coated felt is the way to go. Even though there’s a fat roll of it in the shed, and my project budget is zero.

3.    Last week I met for coffee with a very demonstrative person. That’s to say someone big into acting out the anecdote they’re telling you. I get embarrassed, a little claustrophobic. People look over at the gesturing and the various voices being used. What can I do, I get self-conscious? I’ve known a few people over the years who like to do this. Like, pretending to hold and speak into an invisible phone if the story involves a call. What makes some people take this approach? I’m not aware that it’s something I do when telling a tale – the actions and the expressions; the… pauses. Do you know someone who do this?

4.    Tables are great, aren’t they? I mean, really great. If you’ve got the room for them, I think you should have them everywhere. Indoors, I mean. I love sitting at tables, me. Sometimes when people get up from the table to move elsewhere, I’m like, ‘oh…’

5.    Years ago – and I mean like back in the late 80s – I was super-obsessed with taking photos off the TV. I liked the chance aspect of it. Even with video pausing you never knew how the lines were going to behave. I think about that occasionally now as I’m constantly pausing these Sky Box Sets. And how back in the day it was pretty much Kylie and Julie Christie I was trying to capture in a frame, and now I’m only hitting pause (see below) when I see a characterful kitchen or a really nice old car.

6.    For these past two days out of this window to my left, I have assumed that the sudden glimpses of a vivid pink through the trees has been the fluorescent hi-viz jacket of someone working on the massive old firs over there. Today I realise it’s a last tall rose, heavy, leaning and bobbing on its stem. A solitary huge pink flowerhead creating quiet mayhem in the trees.

Photographs off the TV

Photographs off the TV. Or ‘life after Kylie.’

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

