Posts from the Var Side, 2016 – 4. Soaked Through but Happy

BlogPost Things

Midweek it’s raining and I’m all about thinking ‘cool days in hot countries’, and of course the cool of rain. The market in the morning, where the smells are very different in the wet air; less of fruit and more of the tea-like, and green. It becomes a day for Toulon, where we shop like old hands (with our older hands) for the incomparable usefulness of French stationery. A brief look at books. I’ve finished the ones I brought with and am having to resort to the unknown jumble on my Kindle; including some Margaret Atwood, whom I’ve never read, and, however wrong I may be, I pick up the scent of a planet sadly close to science fiction, and I bail. John Williams’ Stoner was a beautiful sadness. Then Brix Smith Start’s autobiography is complicated for me. I’m a huge Fall fan, and The Brix Years are my favourites, but I struggle with some of the histories – just as new information, I guess.
In Toulon the rains come hard and we head to a restaurant we’ve been to before. Nearly 3pm, but the chef says the kitchen can stay open for a little longer. My chicken, mashed potatoes comes on a lovely old plate and is of course delicious. Leaving the place we are re-enacting the Divine Comedy song, Geronimo – a fabulous love-song to rain and to stolen and magical moments. Soaked through but happy.
Back at the apartment I take some time to appreciate my new shirt. I set it next to the old, old favourite denim and enjoy introducing the two. The new one, blue floral, is very like one worn by Tom Haverford in Parks and Recreation, and I’m happy I found this at last.
A latest painting – watercolour sketching – of a view of the boats below interrupted by a crazy teapot on the table… doesn’t work how I kind of expected, but I like its awkwardness somehow; the crazy colours, even.
Before all of this in our morning cafe, the man we see a lot who looks like Jesus passes by and takes a moment to fist-bump with the nice waiter he obviously knows. A Fist-Bump With Jesus becomes one of our song titles for the day.

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Literature, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

