Pie Season: Extra Helpings

Family gathering up North, and I put my hand up to do mains. Four pies on their way real soon; and here’s just a little sneak preview of the cargo. For the record, there was such great pleasure in co-ordinating the prep and the cooking of these (and around my job of work, to boot) – a welcome surprise to me, whose inner voice is often ragging on my juggling abilities. And also how there is very little in this world more creatively, hands-on damn satisfying than trimming away the excess pastry on the lid of an assembled pie. Lots in common with the way I think (I like to think) I work at my vectors and letters.

So… Chicken in creamy tarragon sauce with spinach and leeks; Ham hock in cider with apples and shallots; Slow-cooked Derbyshire beef with chestnut mushrooms in Sharp’s Single Brew (Reserve 2013); and a kind of bonus-y fourth, being the Beef topped with potatoes and a parmesan crust.

Oh – and star bakes for my B…

Tuck in!

IMG_1445

 

IMG_1444

IMG_1443

IMG_1448

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Family History, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

