Mirror Portrait

For today’s Creatively Different Wednesday (go with me, it’s actually a thing), I decided to set up the old Cintiq drawing board and, very nicely inspired by recent listenings to the Chris Oatley ArtCast podcast which I’d happily stumbled upon on iTunes, point my Improving Quest in the direction of self-portrait.

It’s been super fun. And like all CDWs should be, entirely free of self-pressure or expectations other than to give something a proper go for a day and understand the benefit to the client work that’s ready to be picked up again in the morning.

Here’s where I got to. Like I say, Cintiq (12WX) with Autodesk Sketchbook Pro… and a little round mirror propped up to my right. It’s pretty fair to say I led with the eyes – which I like for their comic book bigness, and how they make the rest of me pinched, somehow, and madly staring – which is the happy lot I enjoy as my resting face.

Mirror Collage

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

