The Grilled Cheese Sandwich Song

Note: I don’t quite know how the tune goes, but I’m thinking it might work with a Joni-Mitchell-esque kind of flutey-pipey vocal. The last two lines I suspect are a chorus of sorts, with which we can all join in, lustily.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Day of scudding clouds, for which I first
Reach always for the word ‘sculling’; clouds
Playing kiss-catch with the sun.
Gravity’s up to no good in the kitchen,
Unreliable as wi-fi. Soaked at the sink;
Butter on the floor. A wall-map of Canada
Arrives in a tube and all of my frames tumble over.

In the final episode of Fargo, Season 1,
Martin Freeman’s Lester makes a deal
Of ordering the grilled cheese sandwich.
Suggestible as – well, whatever you’d care
To recommend – I hit pause and go rootin’
For the book, Grilled Cheese, on a cookin’
Book shelf and all of my books tumble over.

In this book, which is only about grilled cheese,
The first recipe is the one I need.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Food, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Grilled Cheese Sandwich Song

  1. Blessed Are The Cheesemakers.

  2. weebluebirdie says:

    Yup, I see where you’re going with Joni Mitchell – any tune from Clouds or Blue would fit! I don’t remember the Lester-grilled cheese sandwich bit… Loved first series of Fargo, second series was an error of judgement.

    • remember when he kept telling Molly’s dad the cafe owner that his wife had just stopped off at the shop to get some papers- when she was actually very dead. Two grilled cheese sandwiches ordered.. with a ginger ale. Bad situation, but a great order. I did like the ever-blue camera filters of Season 2.

Leave a Reply

