Posts from the Var Side – The Picture at Lili’s

The Saturday evening before we left we called in at Lili’s in La Seyne. Over the years I’ve taken countless photographs in the yard behind the clunking wooden gates; in Jacqui’s workshop; across the outside dining table, crazy with its mosaic; the lemon tree. This night as we got up to leave I spotted the loveliest line-up of things all along the back wall of the yard. The ‘on parade’ quality reminded me of (or remembered) the paintings and prints I once had a mind for creating. And the colours, at first thought all sun-paled and sad, were really a very nice rhythm, and exciting, joyful, in their unexpectedness and tilt. No matter the flowerpots are not ravishing with blooms. Not wanting to interrupt the à la prochaines, I took a squared snap quickly, almost furtively, un-looking at the result until the next morning, when I found the framing had been so luckily precise and that the picture at Lili’s would instantly become one of my favourite photos of all.

Flowerpots Smaller

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

