Against the Business of Birdsong

The Writer’s Digest 2015 April Poem a Day Challenge begins. It’s a thing I was alerted to by a fellow-blogging gunpowder wraith – and something I figured could bring a little (clears throat) structure to my days for a wee while at least.

I’m not going to post every day’s production (god, just imagine) – but here’s the kick-off. Today’s theme, Resistance. I like how daily submissions are encouraged to be approached as part of an organic bigger something. And how it helps from the start to have an over-arching theme, a thread, in mind. Here goes.

Against the Business of Birdsong

I make the house giant, its million bricks,
embarrassed to be my hierarchy,
turn inwards from their job of pushing out,
obliged to watch and glad to hand on to
a cat that comes around three times a day.

Always and never, are tenets dissolved
in a crafted isolation, a stand
against a life it took years to pretend.
Against the business of birdsong I choose,
to kneel and clean a bath I do not use.

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Against the Business of Birdsong

  1. LVital7019 says:

    *blushes* *bows head*
    *sheepishly ponders infinite meaning of “gunpowder wraith”* 😉

  2. Pingback: PAD Day 1 – April 1, 2015 | WTF Elsewhere

Leave a Reply

