Casuistry, The Classical and Recall

Begins email:

Casuistry Email

And that’s when it comes to me. Casuistry. The word I cannot remember until I move towards some kind of dialogue with the person (Adam, madam) who introduced me to it.
I enjoy the mental scratching, the slipping and the chase. Because I do not really understand the meaning of the word (and I’m okay with that, because a Wikipedia page informs that: The agreed meaning of “casuistry” is in flux. A meaning in flux – how ace is that?), I invariably – and we’re talking once a year, here – search on something other that does not get me to the word, but which does give my mind the time to twist, re-twist and test its focus, all the while, I know, homing in on the quarry. And the important thing is I know.
Why am I thinking about thinking of this word? I’m quite sure it’s because of The Fall. I’m sure it’s because of The Fall.
There is a Mark E Smith lyric somewhere that goes something like: ‘—- exact specification, to the wrong detail.’ But I can’t correctly place it. And I slip in the gateway mud at some so-wrong fields (Arms Control Poseur; definitely on Extricate somewhere), until everything lines up nicely in my brain and I know it’s from The Classical; it goes:

You won’t find anything more ridiculous, than this new profile
razor unit, made with the highest British attention to the
wrong detail, become obsolete units surrounded by hail.

‘The highest attention to the wrong detail’ (British or otherwise), is what I think, habitually and wrongly – and treasured – is the definition of my (Adam’s) word.

I am going on a long drive today and there are five CDs (how very quickly retro) on the bottom step in the hallway. The Classical just happens to be in amongst.
Frank Skinner (fellow Fall-ist) does this nice line in the anti-Google; encouraging listeners (‘readers’) of his Absolute Radio show to revert from googling to asking people, and to remembering – with all of that focus in fabulous flux – extolling also the wonder of the moment when you eventually and always recall.
And with this I reason that I’ve just put the tin hat on that wonder for casuistry.

Casuistry Fall

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Casuistry, The Classical and Recall

  1. weebluebirdie says:

    Aah, The Fall. Many was the night holed up in my bedroom listening to John Peel play the Fall, Half Man Half Biscuit, Ivor Cutler and lots more which I will recall withouth googling!

    • Totally snap. Last week on a designy job I said ‘as Half Man Half Biscuit said, it makes the room look bigger’. And other great reference points for twenty year-olds…

      • weebluebirdie says:

        I’ve always liked their song with the lyric “too much apple pie” but would have to google to get the song title….

  2. don’t google – let it come to you – imagine the fun when it does.

Leave a Reply

