Little Pieces

Ever my own archivist, I often return to the volume of stuff I produced in my student days. Favourites amongst the doodled beasteries and totemic widgets are the plenty pictures of things I sometimes call my Cats & Whizzers. Created in urgent bursts of monoprinting, whilst in Reading and in Leeds, emergent characters of cats and lemon-centric Mummers, buffing pads and pulses, star in half-tales of battles fought out upon fireside rugs, in armchairs, on driveways and abandoned music hall stages.

Thirty years on, I’ve turned back to them proper, and this week have worked on a series of prints that showcase and parade the whimsical buggers in a way that I think does justice to their original fizzing madness, and to the bobble-hatted mooncalf who rollered them out of their ink. I call them Little Pieces.

Little Pieces: The All-Electric Cat Band

Little Pieces: The All-Electric Cat Band

 

Little Pieces: Together

Little Pieces: Together

Little Pieces: Line of Defence

Little Pieces: Line of Defence

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little Pieces

  1. weebluebirdie says:

    I love the quirkiness of these! Brought a smile.

Leave a Reply

