Septembering

Because there was a new cat in the lane – I’ll say it again – because there was a new cat in the lane it meant our visiting cat needed a little, well, help in crossing the triangle to come say Hi. Which meant the back door was opened, and which meant in turn that my B.  left the house by that route, thereby missing her bag in the hallway, and therefore…

I met her with her laptop later in the morning, halfway to her work and halfway from mine, and because the roadworks are doing their rounds it meant I needed to hook back home by the long way – the ‘country way’, as we call it.

Which means I saw the best of the undecided late morning mist, and saw it too as it broke as I came down the hill from Kirk Langley into the woods above Kedleston Hall, and there I pulled over in the clomping truck and took my photo, so:

From Lodge Lane to Kedleston. A friendly comment mentioned Constable. I love the apparent pathways up to the skies.

From Lodge Lane to Kedleston. A friendly comment mentioned Constable. I love the apparent pathways to the skies.

And driving onwards home and to the place I call my studio, I felt fantastically keen and giddy and glad, that this landscape is right here about where we live, and these places are near, and that near us too is the true Septembering of these places, and Autumn. And the landscape can be photographed and faced.

Because there was a new cat in the lane.

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Septembering

  1. weebluebirdie says:

    I do love a dark thunderous sky with sunlight 🙂 I love the raw sienna and ochre colours of the left hand corner – Autumn colours!! I stand at the road end waiting for my bus in the morning and lately I have been in awe. We’ve had a few of those wonderful mornings with mysterious wisps of mist. Or low cloud carving out the hills. I’ve been trying to brew a Haiku….

  2. And everything is connected

Leave a Reply

