First Painting

… of the holidays, yesterday. I picked up and unwrapped the little cheap set of watercolours I bought in North Wales before coming to France – and I set up at the balcony table.

It’s a bright sketch, and there’s a lot of colouring in, of course, but I loved doing this, and I liked how the wonkiness of looking up in this town translated to the little painting board. And really liked how the building on the left came out, with its soft, sleepy shutters.

Balcony Painting 1The right side, though blockily bold – and I do like the sandy colour I got there – troubled me a bit; enough to crop a photo of the piece and look at more of a story of the flower potted balcony and the building with the sleepy shutters. Like this:

Balcony Painting 2

 

I’m happiest of all, of course, to have picked up the paints and the brushes at all.

 

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Art, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Painting

  1. glynfedwards says:

    A holiday within a holiday

Leave a Reply

