Thinkus Bigus

Today was mainly a fed-up day. I know I’ve got a cold coming on (B. had it last week and we done a canoodle and now it’s mine), and I’m still not entirely certain that one of my toes isn’t broken from an incident yesterday with a coffee table. Actually it was more of an ‘occasional table’ – which is too existential a furniture-thought to grab hold of right now; slippery, like me, I’m currently half-man-half-arnica gel. So that’s been making me queasy – the toe thing, not the gel. And today I learned that I didn’t win a design pitch. But if I’m honest with myself, what my mood’s been about mostly is the behaviour of a client; and more specifically, more actually, than that, my own letting myself be so affected by it. Classic stuff.

To be away from my desk somehow, I went to put the order in for my fancy new glasses (they’re pretty retro – I can see into everyone’s past.) On the way back to the munky-truck I caught a tiny glimpse of something in a little shop window; it was a motivational signy thing that said ‘Think Big’. As whimsically blah as such sentiments are (that rhymes quite pleasingly), something about registering it at speed had a useable impact and made me remember that I have the ability to choose to think bigger and better than those whose values I cannot share, and cannot respect.

And when I got home I wrote it out in my very best Latin, for to make the notion more imposing and a heap of times more true.

Thinkus Bigus

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Family History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thinkus Bigus

  1. weebluebirdie says:

    The quirky always helps on fed up days 🙂

  2. dustfinger7 says:

    I love that I am not the only one who is bummed out by all of those Hallmark Channel worthy “blah statements.” When one starts seeing these, ie: “Live, Laugh, Love”, printed on paper towels, it is time to reword- as you did splendidly!

    seekrockcity.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the message. Yup, I pity our future generations watching Antiques Roadshow. Maybe motivational messages will come to have motivational messages printed on them…
      Cheers – and wishing you a blankly printed day.
      Steve

Leave a Reply

