Found Poems Found

Truffling, came across a sheaf of cut-out poems I made whilst at college in the mid-18th Century. These are part of a larger work, largely a love story, and whilst I pore over that much for longer, I’d like to share these five fun-bunnies here on Fisher Lane.

IMG_6667 IMG_6668 IMG_6669 IMG_6670 IMG_6671

 

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Family History, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Found Poems Found

  1. Peter45 says:

    I like the Doctor Who reference.

    • Thanks Peter – I don’t think the reference was intended, as this set was made back in the 80s, when I had precisely no thoughts about Timelords. But I like that by going back in time I get to bring a Time Machine back with me. Something like that…. Cheers.

  2. Reblogged this on Alix and commented:
    These little thoughts made my day 🙂

  3. Lovely….following you…..creative and unique…

  4. E. M. Lita says:

    Absolutely love these. Especially the first, very Doctor Who. But the third one is brilliant.

  5. tuskalooser says:

    These are great! Thanks for sharing!

  6. PoshPedlar says:

    Love the nostalgic feel of the vintage printed word and the pattern on paper.

  7. samanthashim says:

    Reblogged this on Suppositions Of Life and commented:
    Lovely

  8. A pleasant afternoon diversion. Creative and charming. 🙂 Peace! Beth

  9. Loved this a lot. Collage poetry. Reminds me of Herta Mueller’s work, only she uses single words.
    🙂

  10. lilymm says:

    Reblogged this on PHOTOBLOG and commented:
    Disocvering the meaning of words is like entering into a new realm, a new world which everyone else inside it understands, and everyone else outside is desperately trying to. The first time a poem meant something to me, beyond attempting to analyse the meaning of it all for my English GCSE was when I read ‘Stop all the clocks’ by W.H. Auden. Afterwards, I felt I understood what poetry was there for. For me, anyway, it made me see what I was feeling, expressed more clearly than I could ever put it, or ever even knew. It made me feel a profound connection with something important and meaningful, and mine. And the beauty of it is that everyone feels that they’re exact feelings are expressed by someone else better and more beautifully than they ever could. To reiterate my point, I will point to the words of W.H. Auden in his much loved but tragic poem.

    Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
    Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
    Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
    Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

    Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead
    Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,
    Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
    Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

    He was my North, my South, my East and West,
    My working week and my Sunday rest,
    My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
    I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.

    The stars are not wanted now: put out every one;
    Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
    Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
    For nothing now can ever come to any good.

  11. helenmidgley says:

    These are fab, I love the whole concept – structure & format 🙂

  12. These are so great! I can honestly say that they made me think a little, but I also felt something in some of them. You did a brilliant job with these!

  13. anniepyryt says:

    Reblogged this on anniepyryt.

  14. Reblogged this on Jennifer Robson – Artist and commented:
    FOUND poetry. love it.

  15. ybawany says:

    What an interesting way to preserve poems. I think I should start putting my cutting skills to use! 🙂

  16. Srikar Reddy says:

    Thanks Steve for sharing. I liked them. Share the long story with us in another point in time.

  17. shagun1593 says:

    Reblogged this on Confessions of a novelist and commented:
    Wow!!

  18. yvanmcgregor says:

    Thank you from sherbrooke canada

  19. heyru says:

    Nice! I’m curious as to what instrument you used for cutting. 😀

  20. LVital7019 says:

    Hey, that COULD be fashionable… depending on which way the pret-a-porter wind blows. Suitable for framing, that one. 😉

  21. amberrose93 says:

    That’s pretty awesome! I did something very similar on my blog, only with a short story. I used old magazines 🙂

  22. I enjoyed the “They sat down…” and the “Dreams are so dangerous” poems. Very creative.

  23. hana says:

    making poetry out of poems 😀 very smart! and it’s fun!

  24. Jackie says:

    This is absolutely great!

  25. Reverie says:

    Wow… love it. It’s amazing how we’re attracted to certain words and phrases as poets. I like to think of them as a collection of seashells that I arrange prettily on paper.

  26. agnestadia says:

    poems are gems for the mind and soul,,,, without them we’re like cars without engine….

Leave a Reply

