Pie Season’s Mid-Season Review

I’ve just flushed last Friday’s gravy down the toilet. Not that it wasn’t delicious, I just left it out too long – and not that it was gravy-gravy, more the sieved-off sauce from the Guinness and steak in the slow-cooker. And that was Pie 4 of this Pie Season; the most pressured, production-wise, as it was baked for my darling sister Annie, over from France and en route to Leeds. She and it and my B. devoured the effort gladly, chatting and toasting Annie’s anniversary too.

Good as the pie was, it wasn’t the best of this season’s batch. That would be Pie 2. It’s been a season of mixed fortunes – Pie 1 didn’t even get Instagram’d or Facebook’d, whilst Pie 3 had me swearingly picking out madly baked-in baking beans whilst all around me pastry ballooned and collapsed. But Pie 2 was brilliant, and the sausage rolls Christmas bonus was a shot in the baking arm too. Let’s have some pictures, shall we?

Pie 1 – 10th November 2013
Steak, Potato, Mushroom, Bass Ale

Pie 1. The pastry pasty, unevenly turned out, and the filling all too swilling. A stew with a lid is no pie...

Pie 1. The pastry pasty, unevenly turned out, and the filling all too swilling. A stew with a lid is no pie…

The following weekend we made our annual pie-lgrimage to Edwards’ Butchers in Conwy, North Wales.

IMG_6407

IMG_6408

Pie 2 – 22nd December 2013
Steak, Mushroom, Guinness, Duffield Black Pudding (served with spiced red cabbage)

Still being talked about down the pub. Really.

Still being talked about down the pub. Really.

Sausage Rolls – 24th December 2013

This Christmas saw me and B. having to be in different places. As one of my sisters was hosting for my lot, I thought I should take along a dish. These fun and easy efforts were copied off Jamie Oliver’s site. I was unrealistically aiming for something like the beauties that B.’s mum makes every Christmas, but was happy enough with what was, after all, my first ever bash at such yumsters.

Actually much better after 2 days chilled.

Actually much better after 2 days chilled.

Pie 3 – 29th December 2013
Shredded Chicken with Chorizo

… with a sprinkling of tarragon, white wine and cream. Altogether too packed, too dense, no air, I remarked; no space for the pie to be itself…

Fancy-pants collage of a perfectly pedestrian lump. But note the new Guinness-branded tin, a Christmassy gift from my B.

Fancy-pants collage of a perfectly pedestrian clod. But note the new Guinness-branded tin, a Christmassy gift from my B.

Pie 4 – 3rd January 2014
Steak, Mushroom, Guinness, Chorizo (served with mashed potatoes… and Champagne)

Hap-Pie Anniversary! Served up to celebrate Annie and William’s special kissy day.

Our local butchers were out of black pudding, so I fried off some chorizo pieces and had them in the sauce.

Our local butchers were out of black pudding, so I fried off some chorizo pieces and had them in the sauce.

… and here’s the ‘aw’ bit for starters:

... though a bit of my Willi broke off.

… though a bit of my Willi broke off.

Pie Season #4 now takes a mid-season break.

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Family History, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

