Posts from the Var Side, 16th October

WEDNESDAY 16TH OCTOBER 2013 – Peaky Blinded by the Sun

Today was a proper bright one. It might come as a shock to anyone beholding my mediterranean outlook and swarthy latin looks, that I’ve never been terribly good with serious sunshine. Of course I likes it like anyone else – but I can’t always bring myself to love it. This is heresy to most, I know, for it’s quite the thing only to worship; but it’s reasonable, I think, for someone born under your duller skies to be not always at one with the sun, just as much to another Englander it’s the absent thing craved for. By which I mean to say if you adore the sun, that’s fantastic for you and I wouldn’t have you any other way. Whatever, it sometimes just pounds on my noggin. Here’s me getting by:

IMG_2269

Funny, me, trying to watch Peaky Blinders on this filthy macbook screen, in the sun of the Cote d’Azur, so that I’m only ever frowning back at my likewise reflection whilst something already dark enough and bleak and unseen is underway in Birmingham. This aside, I’ve taken a shine to the show, and once past (within ten minutes, to be fair, and god knows there were warnings) the smorgasbord of accents, the boom-boom drama and its archetypes, it’s actually a neat old knockabout effort, richly shot, with the time-bending music I’m always very partial to. And what’s not to like about Tom Waits popping up time to time?

Wednesday was finished with a second visit to l’Endroit; our tidy modern and so-friendly find round by the fountain. Moules gratinées for a cheeky opener, then a Provençale pizza with a sunny disposition – pictured here – with some of it now in our fridge.

IMG_6098

So that, sunshine, was mainly Wednesday.

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in Family History, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

