I’m Going Sweet Memories!

A post about three Goings.

Being in Belper (Derbyshire) today (yesterday) – I know; such a name, and one as I first thought was a marriage of belch and burp, but turned out to be from Beaurepaire, the retreat of titled types who hunted deer in the Royal Frith roundabout these parts in the mid-twelve-hundreds – I was reminded when I turned a corner by a sweet shop, of something a boy once cried out. And this had me collate, in the short walk back to the car, my arm aglow, a-humming, with the deeply minted rub of my final physio visit, a trio of Goings I have come across in my life, that made me laugh.

And I hereby do present each as they might be as a t-shirt. And in a countdown, too.

3. “I’m Going To Release”

T-Shirts-3

I worked at Marks and Spencer’s HQ, on Baker Street in the late eighties, and temporarily in the export field I would witness the ways of the Shipping Clerks, whose responsibilty and privilege it was, when a shipment was ready to go, to stand and raise their hand and declare: ‘I’m Going To Release!’

2. “I’m Going To Cleanse The Universe”

T-Shirts-1

I worked close by to analysts and data clerks in the late nineties, and every now and then, when the mass of statistical clutter was too much to be made sense of, a senior controller would announce an imminent system downtime with the warring bellow: ‘I’m Going To Cleanse The Universe!’

1. “I’m Going Sweet Memories”

T-Shirts-2

I grew attuned in the East Midlands to the way it is to drop a ‘to’, and laughed at ‘are you going Ripley?’ and ‘no, I’m going Ilkeston’. In Belper one Saturday I noticed a group of young lads on King Street, and watched one peel away and run with purpose and passion to the sweet shop – a jars-in-the-window operation that traded on nostalgia and was named that way – hollering, excitedly: ‘I’m Going Sweet Memories!’

 

About Stevie Mitchell

I come from a long line of cartoons and beer. I was once peed on by a tiger. Hoping the resultant super-powers are yet to come, cos if these are they, then, grrrr....
This entry was posted in comedy, Family History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

